Reefers

DSC_0028 (4)

DSC_0034

DSC_0027

DSC_0022

1970565_822178534478176_1812651036_n

REEFERS

Water as always been a form of meditation. I lived by the river for half my life, and spent my time off just looking at the horizon, throwing rocks and escalading the landscape. I was looking for a way to sculpt coral reefs easily and quickly, so I started tearing paper and cardboard, glueing them together. Then I played with depths of canvases, tearing the canvas to install the sculptures and letting light from behind come through the painting. I test for textures within a same color, with the way I paint, giving it motion.

The series was born out of need. They are melancholic abstract paintings with sculptural elements. They play with form between the black, the white, and highlights of color, fighting for balance. They are sorts of paintings that you hang and pass by and every time you look at it, you see something different.

Leave a Reply

